Print Page | Contact Us | Report Abuse | Sign In | Join ASFA
ASFA Governance



ASFA is led by its Board of Directors, which is comprised of active ASFA members who are dedicated to the Society. Its mission is to advance apheresis medicine for patients, donors and practitioners through education, evidence-based practice, research and advocacy.

Board of Directors



Bruce Sachais, MD, PhD

Eileen Galvin Karr, RN, BSN, HP(ASCP)
Immediate Past President

Laura Collins, RN, BSN, HP(ASCP)
New York Blood Center
New York, NY
Baystate Medical Center
Springfield, MA
University of Iowa Hospital and Clinics
Iowa city, IA

Joseph Schwartz, MD, MPH
Vice President

Antonia Hagen-Coonradt

YanYun Wu, MD
New York Presbyterian Hospital
New York, NY
United Blood Services
Billings, MT
Puget Sound Blood Center
Seattle, WA





Rasheed Balogun, MD, FCAP, FASN, 

University of Virginia
Charlottesville, VA

Tanya Ferber

United Blood Services
Billings, MT

Yara A. Park, MD

University of North Carolina Hospitals

Chapel Hill, NC

Alicia Garcia, RN, HP(ASCP)

UCSF Benioff Hospitals Oakland & San Francisco 
Alameda, CA

Michael Linenberger, MD

Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Seattle, WA

 Walter Linz, MD, MBA

Scott and White
Temple, TX


Jeffrey L. Winters, MD

Journal of Clinical Apheresis Editor, Ex-Officio
Mayo Clinic
Rochester, MN